Video Draft

Hello,

I had a few ideas going into this video project. The first week we had to take footage was spent in California celebrating my husband’s 30th birthday and my mother-in-law’s 60th birthday. We spent the first full day at Disneyland, the second at the LA Zoo, and the third at California Adventure. The last three days were  spent lounging at the pool, recovering from the previous three days. I took quite a few 10-15 second videos while in California, as well as three really long videos of my family wishing my husband a happy 30th birthday.

Once home, and after getting all the footage uploaded, I decided to recap our trip for this video because my blog topic for this class is “myself”; and wishing my husband a happy 30th, though important to me, doesn’t really go with my topic. I do, however, still plan on finishing his birthday video as well.

First things first, after deciding to recap our trip, I uploaded all of the videos and photos into Premiere and then separated them into folders by day. I wanted to start with the first video I took, walking in the PDX airport, because I love that carpet and they are in the process of replacing it and I wanted to have that video to remember it by. From there I used the trolly ride into Disney because that was the first point in the first day, that I had the excitement of going to Disneyland that day. Plus seeing all the excited kids in costume was contagious. From there I just added the photos from the first day.

After the first day was complete, I started on the second and then third day. I wanted to end with the trolly ride again, because my husband rested his head on my lap and we were equally exhausted. I seriously don’t know how mothers and fathers can handle taking their kids to Disneyland. After day three we were done, and we were all adults.

Once all of the videos and photos were in the right order. I started on transitions. I just played with them and found what I though flowed well. I didn’t want to just use one for everything, so I tried not to repeat transitions.

From there I added some text to the video, and went hunting for a song. I wanted something happy and upbeat because that is what Disneyland is all about. I came across The Meedie Organ Player on Jamendo and listened to his album Music from 1912. I finally settled on  the song At Uncle Tom’s Cabin door. He allows use of his song as long as  he is given credit, so I made sure to insert his name and song title at the end of my video. You can view it here: http://www.jamendo.com/en/track/1107871/at-uncle-tom-s-cabin-door-cowan

Once I put the song into Premiere, I cut it down to where it was the same length, and then I tacked the storyboard, which will be at the end of this post. I know that I want to say a few things in this video, but haven’t quite figured that part out yet. I don’t want it to be too cheesy, and I definitely do not want to talk the whole time, but I do want to say something.

So that is where I am at with this draft, I look forward to your suggestions, critiques and edits.

Thanks,

Tabitha

Storyboard

Storyboard

My video draft is posted here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=su6zG6BBnuY&feature=youtu.be

6 thoughts on “Video Draft

  1. Hi Tabitha,
    For some reason I can’t get your story board image to open. It could be my computer though because I am having to use a different computer while using Premiere and have been having trouble with parts of Angel not working too.

    First, I want to tell you that you took a great variety of still shots and video. It is a good mix of box people and scenery! Also I think that the music you chose is a good fit for the topic, Disneyland, which by the way is one of my favorite places.

    I only have a couple of suggestions for you to consider. To add a little more variety to your story you might give some thought to adding a little bit of narration in your own voice to the story. This might make it a bit more personal and help move it forward even more. Also, I would suggest lengthening the end credits, they went by so quick that I could barely read them.

    Good Luck with your edits!

    • Hi I just tried adding it again as a link to download. I tried it on mine and it worked, hopefully it works on yours so you can at least see it. Thank you so much for the feedback and for letting me know it wasn’t showing up.
      Thanks,
      Tab

  2. Hi Tabitha,

    First off, I really enjoyed the music that accompanied your video. I think it fit really well with the theme park that you visited! It definitely has a “carnival” feel to it. I also liked that you had a mixture of people and scenery, as did Carole. I think that I would love your video to be a little bit longer, maybe with a few more videos and pictures? Or perhaps even lengthening the time the pictures are on screen might help. It might also be fun to use a longer video, maybe of you walking around the park, and speed it up a bit or something just for a different element to your video. I also like your idea of adding a bit of narration, I think that would make your video really come together so people can see how great your vacation really was! (maybe saying why you loved your vacation so much would help).

    Can’t wait to see the final product!

  3. Tabitha,
    I really enjoyed your video! I was also in California recently and that’s where my video takes place! I thought you did a really good job showing your trip and I liked how you put titles for each day. That really helped explain what was happening in the video! A few things though, like others said, maybe lighten up your video a little bit just so it makes a warmer vibe. I also don’t really understand the last video of your husband, it just seems a little bit like a waste! But overall, I like the idea of your video and think the final will be awesome!
    -Emma

Leave a comment